Caguas Wins Title In P. Rico After Beating Mayagüez

Victor Caratini and Vimael Machin hit RBI singles in the top of the ninth inning to reverse a deficit and give the Caguas Criollos a dramatic 7-6 victory over the Mayagüez Indios on Sunday, completing the sweep in the final series of the Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League of Puerto Rico.

The Caguas Criollos won the 19th title in their history, which makes them the top winners of Puerto Rico and the representatives of the circuit in the Caribbean Series to be played in Mazatlán, Mexico, starting on January 31.


José Miranda was 2-for-5 with a three-run homer in the fifth inning, Jarren Duran added a solo home run and Victor Caratini was 4-1 with two RBIs to lead the winners’ offense.

Joshua Torres (1-0) retired a blank inning in relief work to take the victory, while the disaster went to Yacksel Ríos (0-1), after allowing two touchdowns and two hits in a labor inning.



The Caribes de Anzoátegui unleashed a 13-hit offense on Sunday and won a 9-6 win over the reigning champions Cardenales de Lara, taking a 3-0 lead in the best-of-seven series that defines the champion of the Venezuelan Professional Baseball League.

Rafael Ortega was 3-for-5, a double, a triple, and posted four RBIs and two runs scored to lead the Caribs offense. Ali Castillo went 4-for-5 with two RBIs and Oswaldo Arcia added a solo homer for the cause, which clinched the ninth win on four-touchdown attacks in the 5th and 6th innings.

Reliever Andrés Pérez (1-0) retired two scoreless innings to claim victory, while the setback went to Henry Centeno’s (0-1) record, after allowing four touchdowns and four hits in his four-round start and two-thirds.