Cardinals Outsmart Lions; Still Undefeated In Venezuela

Ali Sánchez hit a three-run homer in the seventh inning, and the Lara Cardinals rallied to defeat the Caracas Leones 3-1 on Thursday night in a game cut to seven innings by rain.

The Cardinals remain the only undefeated team in the Venezuelan Professional Baseball League.


Yapson Gómez (1-0) retired the only batter he faced, and got the win. The setback went to the record of Ronald Herrera (0-1), after charging with two touchdowns in his relief of one and a third inning.

In Porlamar, Margarita’s Braves put together a five-touchdown attack in the first inning and defeated the Anzoátegui Caribes 7-2.

Dilson Herrera went 2-for-4 with a home run, two RBIs and two runs, Frank Diaz drove in two touchdowns with a single and David Rodriguez drove in one more with a single.

Jhenderson Hurtado (1-0) scored the win after retiring two scoreless innings as a reliever. Greg Minier lost (0-1), who could barely retire a batter and was punished with five touchdowns and four hits.

In Valencia, Arturo Nieto hit 3-3 with two RBIs, Alberth Martínez went 3-2 with an RBI and Alejandro de Aza added an RBI double in the victory of the Navegantes del Magallanes 4-3 over the Tiburones de La Guaira.

Yohander Méndez (1-0) retired a chapter and a third without allowing a touchdown to win the game. It was lost by Víctor Díaz (0-2), after conceding three touchdowns and seven hits in three and a third innings.

In Maracaibo, Osleivis Basabe went 2-for-5 with a triple and two RBIs, José Herrera hit an RBI double of two more and Alí Castillo had two hits with a RBI to guide the Águilas del Zulia to a 6-2 victory. about the Tigres de Aragua.

Yohan Pino (1-0) scored the win after covering five innings and two-thirds of just two runs and five hits. The disaster went to the record of Ramón García (0-1), shaken with five touchdowns and five hits in two and two-thirds episodes.

The Cardinals lead the circuit with a 4-0 record, followed by Leones (3-2), Braves (2-2), Navegantes (2-2), Aguilas (2-3), Tigres (2-3), Caribes (1-2) and Sharks (1-3).


A six-touchdown attack in the fifth inning led the Tigres del Licey to a comfortable 9-1 victory over the Estrellas Orientales in the second day of the Dominican Baseball League.

Former Major League Baseball player Hanley Ramirez was 3-for-1 with a triple and two RBIs, Brian Serven went 3-for-1 with two RBIs and Dawel Lugo went 1-for-2 with one RBI and two runs scored.

Reliever Óliver Ortega (1-0) fanned four opponents in his cutting 1/2-inning relief without allowing runs to claim victory. The loss went to Evan MacLane (0-1), punished with four touchdowns in his brief relief of just one-third inning.

In San Francisco de Macorís, the Leones del Escogido unleashed a 12-hitter offense in support of a solid start by Ethan Small, comfortably defeating the Gigantes del Cibao 10-0.

Small (1-0) covered five scoreless innings, shooting just three hits with six fans to win the game. It was lost by Adalberto Mejía (0-1), despite conceding only one run and two hits in five chapters.

Most of the damage was suffered by the Giants’ relief.

Jimmy Paredes was 3-2 with a double and three RBIs, Gabriel Guerrero hit a solo homer, Francisco Urbaez went 4-2 with an RBI and three runs and Isaías Tejeda drove in a pair of touchdowns.

At La Romana, Deivy Grullón hit a two-run RBI double, and Juan Carlos Pérez added an RBI single of two more to guide the Águilas Cibaeñas to a 5-2 victory over the Toros del Este.

Michael Devine won (1-0) with a two-round blank relay. Raúl Valdes (0-1) fell, shaken with five touchdowns and three hits in just two and two-thirds innings.


José Luna responded with a single in the back of the 10th inning, Jorge Rivera dropped from second to score the winning run in a dramatic collision at the plate, and the Cañeros de los Mochis earned a surprise 3-2 victory over the Mayos de Navojoa, who snapped a six-game winning streak in the Mexican Pacific League.

After starter Leuris Gómez went without a decision after a brilliant six-inning scoreless six-hit ball, Marcos Machado (2-1) retired the only batter he faced and benefited from the offensive reaction of his teammates to score the victory. Martín Buitimea (1-1) took the loss after admitting the difference race and two hits in one chapter and two thirds.

In Jalisco, the Tomateros de Culiacán unleashed a 16-hit offense and beat the Charros 9-5, their fifth win in six games.

Diego Madero hit a two-run homer, Dairon Blanco had three hits with two RBIs and Ramiro Peña’s was 4-2 with an RBI to stand out in the Tomateros attack.

David Gutiérrez (1-0) walked one and two-thirds inning without allowing a run in relief work to claim victory, while the loss went to the record of Brennan Bernardino (0-1), with one run and two allowed hits in a episode and a third.

In Guasave, the star Jesse Castillo hit 2-2, received three walks, drove in four touchdowns and scored twice to lead the Algodoneros attack, which beat the Venados de Mazatlán 10-2.

Fernando Mirando (1-2) won for the first time of the season with a five-round effort in which he allowed two runs and three hits with five fans. The defeat went to Édgar Torres (2-1), punished with six runs and nine hits in three innings and two thirds.

In Ciudad Obregón. Carlos Soto hit a three-run homer, Danny Ortiz added another two-touchdown and Issmael Salas went 3-for-3 with two doubles and an RBI to propel the Sultanes de Monterrey to a 9-6 win over the Yaquis.

Starter Luis Gámez (3-1) allowed two runs and seven hits with five fans in six innings to win the game, and Alexis Portillo (1-1) lost it after allowing three runs and three hits in 2 2/3 innings.

In Hermosillo, the Águilas de Mexicali attacked with four runs in the first inning and had a solid opening from Miguel Peña to defeat the Naranjeros 4-2.

Peña (1-3) managed to allow two touchdowns in seven innings despite receiving 11 hits and won for the first time of the season. The loss went to the record of José Samayoa (1-2) after conceding four runs and four hits in five innings.

Ronnier Mustelier hit a two-run RBI double and Xorge Carrillo drove in two more with a single for the winners.

The Mayos lead the circuit with a 13-7 record, followed by the Algodoneros (12-7), Yaquis (12-8), Charros (11-9), Tomateros (11-9), Naranjeros (9-11), Sultans (9-11), Águilas (9-11), Venados (8-12) and Cañeros (5-14).