Crabs, Indians, Giants And Athenians Will Play Postseason P.Rico League

San Juan, Dec. 30 (EFE) .- Los Cangrejeros de Santurce, Indios de Mayagüez, Gigantes de Carolina and Atenienses de Manatí will be the four teams that will compete in the 2019-2020 postseason series of the Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League (LBPRC ).

The Athenians were the last and fourth team to qualify after splitting a double game on Sunday with the Carolina Giants.

The Athenians, similarly, managed to qualify for the defeat of the Creoles of Caguas against the Cangrejeros, champions defending the tournament.


The Cangrejeros defeated the Creoles 3-2, eliminating them from the contest, while the Athenians won the first the first game against the Giants, 4-2, but fell in the second 4-3.

However, this did not prevent the Athenians from qualifying for the postseason series, which will start on January 3.

The crossings will be between the Cangrejeros and the Athenians and the Giants before the Indians.

The official calendar of the semifinal series will be published shortly by the LBPRC.

The two teams with the best brand in the postseason series go on to the championship series, which starts on January 14.

The Cangrejeros are the defending champions in the past two seasons.

The champion team of this campaign will represent Puerto Rico in the Caribbean Series 2020, which will be played at the Hiram Bithorn Stadium in San Juan from February 1 to 7.

The respective champions of the leagues of Cuba, Mexico, Panama, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic and Venezuela will also compete in that tournament.

Panama is the defending champion.

The 2019 Caribbean Series had competitors for the Cangrejeros (Puerto Rico), Eastern Stars (Dominican Republic), Charros de Jaliscos (Mexico), Cardinals of Lara (Venezuela), Lumberjacks of the Tunas (Cuba) and Bulls of Panama (Panama ).

Of those countries, Cuba and Panama participated as guests. EFE