Criollos, One Step Away From The Title In Puerto Rico

An explosive night by Jarren Durán with the club put the Caguas Criollos within a championship victory of the Roberto Clemente Professional Baseball League of Puerto Rico.

The Criollos defeated the Mayagüez Indians 7-3 on Saturday and took a 3-0 lead in the final series to the best in a maximum of seven games.


Duran was 2-for-5, including a three-run home run in the eighth. He totaled four RBIs to lead the Criollos attack.

Jonathan Morales went 1-for-3-1 with a one-run RBI single and star Yadier Molina contributed a sacrifice fly.

Anthony Maldonado (1-0) allowed one run and two hits in one inning, but took advantage of his team’s offensive reaction to win the game. It was lost by Robby Rowland (0-1), after allowing two touchdowns and two hits in just a third of an inning.


Luis Sardiñas singled and Alí Castillo took the opportunity to score the only run of the duel in a tight play that was revised in the top of the 11th inning, for the Caribes de Anzoátegui to defeat the Cardenales de Lara 2-0.

The Caribs took a 2-0 lead in the final best-of-seven series that defines the champion of the Venezuelan Baseball League

Andres Machado, starter for the Caribes, pitched five scoreless episodes, of just one hit, but left without a decision. The win went to reliever Jaison Viera after retiring a scoreless inning.

Raúl Rivero, the Cardinals starter, completed six blank innings of just three hits, but also came out without a decision. The loss went to Ricardo Gomez’s record, after conceding a hit and the only run of the game in his one-and-a-third inning relief.

Ali Castillo led off the top of the 11th with a single, took advantage of a Williams Astudillo ground ball to advance to second and scored on Sardiñas’ single with a collision at the plate.


Anthony Vázquez responded with a quality start, and the Tomateros de Culiacán appealed to his explosive batting to defeat the Naranjeros de Hermosillo 6-1, to equal a win per side in the final series to the best of seven in the Mexican League of the Peaceful.

Hermosillo hit three home runs to support the work of Vazquez (1-0), who worked six 1/3 innings, six hits and just one run with seven fans to win the game.

The defeat went to the record of Marcelo Martínez (0-1), after tolerating two touchdowns in his short relief of just a third of an inning.

Sebastián Elizalde, recently named the Circuit’s Most Valuable Player, was 4-2 with a double, a home run, two RBIs and two runs scored. Yoelkis Guibert hit a two-run homer and Efrén Navarro took her out of the park alone to lead the reigning champions of the circuit.