Florida gives 48 hours for schools to remove mask order or face “consequences”

Florida Gives 48 Hours For Schools To Remove Mask Order Or Face “consequences”

The Florida Department of Education warned this Friday that it will fine all school districts in that state that do not comply with the executive order issued by Republican Gov. Ron DeSantis for students not to wear masks in schools.

The State Board of the Department of Education stated, for example, that school districts in Alachua and Broward counties have 48 hours to comply with the order or else the agency will begin withholding state funds from them.

Miami-Dade neighboring Broward and Alachua counties in the north chose to apply the recommendations of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to protect students from the rapid spread of the variant. delta and make the use of masks mandatory in schools.


“It is important to remember that this issue is about ensuring that local school board members, elected politicians, comply with the law. These public officials have sworn to uphold the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of the State of Florida. We cannot make government officials choose which laws they want to follow, ”states an agency press release.

“These are the initial consequences of your willful refusal to follow state law and state rule to willfully and willfully violate parental rights. This is simply unacceptable behavior, ”the statements added.

On July 30, DeSantis signed Executive Order 21-175 in which it established that public schools must allow “a parent or legal guardian of the student to choose not to wear a face covering or mask.”

The statute is one of the many manifestations of the Republican governor, a supporter of former President Donald Trump, to prevent measures to prevent COVID-19 infections from being implemented. Its decisions maintain this status as one of the main sources of the greatest number of infections and deaths as a result of this virus.

The Department of Education assured that, initially, it will withhold state funds, monthly, an amount equivalent to 1/12 of the total annual compensation of the members of the School Board who voted to impose the use of a mask. The retention will stop only if they verify that they do not order the use of a mask.

Counties that did comply with the DeSantis order, such as Hillsborough and Brevard, had to quarantine more than 10,000 students and 338 teachers because they were exposed to COVID-19 infections.

DeSantis’s order already faces controversy in court. For example, a lawsuit filed by 27 families argues that the order is unconstitutional.

The parents added that the implementation of this executive order would not allow offering students a safe environment in their face-to-face classes.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

44 − = 42