The Iowa Caucus Culminates The Scrutiny Of The Democratic Primary

Washington, D.C. – The Iowa Democratic Party announced on Thursday the updated results of the state party assemblies after concluding the scrutiny requested by the Bernie Sanders and Pete Buttigieg campaign teams.

In the new results, Buttigieg has 562.95 equivalent state delegates and Sanders 562.02 of 2,151 counted. The marginal difference corresponds to 0.04 percentage points.

The Associated Press reviewed the updated results and will not declare a winner due to still existing concerns about the inaccuracy of the data revealed by the match. The assemblies of February 3 had technical problems that caused a delay in the dissemination of the results, inconsistencies in the figures and that there was no clear winner.


The community plans to certify the results on Saturday. At that time, the party assemblies will be formally concluded and there will be no more changes in the numbers.

Iowa grants 41 national delegates in its caucuses. According to the results, Buttigieg has 13 delegates and Sanders 12. Elizabeth Warren got eight, Joe Biden six and Amy Klobuchar one.

A final delegate will be granted to Buttigieg as the precandidate with the highest number of equivalent state delegates. The AP will update its national delegates account won in Iowa on Saturday with the last delegate, once the Iowa Democratic Party approves the certification of the results.

The president of the Democratic Party in Iowa, Troy Price, resigned after the fiasco of the local caucuses after claiming that the Democrats deserved more and that he assumed responsibility for all failures. Democrats in that state selected local representative Mark Smith as interim president after the resignation.

It is not the first time that the AP decides to refrain from declaring a winner in a contest, although it has happened on very rare occasions.

The most notable example was in the year 2,000, when the results of the contest between George W. Bush and Al Gore indicated a technical tie after the elections. The AP decided not to declare a winner in those elections. The counting dispute went later to the Supreme Court, whose decision allowed Bush to become president.